THE WEEK THAT WAS – 5/52

27 Jan-02 Feb 2020

A quick snapshot of the end of January and the beginning of February…

27 Jan – Monday – Regular workday! Had meetings in Ambad and then rest of the day in office. Before my day began, I took some adorable photos of Sara! Head over to my Instagram to check them out! Trust me!
28 Jan – Tuesday – Regular workday! Another meeting in Ambad. And barely got a picture with Sara.
29 Jan – Wednesday – Regular workday for me but Sara was going to attend a wedding with my parents. She loved dressing up — for exactly 30 seconds. She ripped of her beaded necklace and bracelet within  seconds of patiently letting me put them on her. Very much like the Bor-Nahan day. I barely managed to get some pictures with the hairband on.
30 Jan – Thursday – Thursday is supposed to be my BNI chapter meeting that starts at 8am. I ended up not going because Sara woke up super cranky. Settled by the time I made it to work.
31 Jan Friday – Friday was a regular workday with lots of social engagements in the evening. Attended a haldi-kumkum, then a wedding reception and then we all went out to dinner.
01 Feb – Saturday – Did general household errands. Class drop off and pick-up. Worked for a bit. Met an old friend after about 5 years. Took Sara for a bor-nahan.

02 Feb – Sunday – This day absolutely killed my week. It all began when Sara slept at 7pm on Saturday evening. Which meant that she would wake up at 9pm and then not sleep till 1am. But just as my luck would have it, she woke up at 8pm – ate a little bit, drank a whole lot of milk and slept off again by 8:45pm. Normally this would have delighted me no ends. But then she woke up at 11pm and drank some milk, then at 1:30am and drank some milk. Then again at 3:30 and drank some milk. AND THEN REFUSED TO GO TO SLEEP!! She kept whimpering because her father and I were trying to get her to go back to sleep. She didn’t want us singing to her, or rocking her, or patting her. She wanted us to GET UP & GO FOR A WALK!! AT 4AM! Finally, at 5AM, she realised that we absolutely were not going to get out of bed, so she howled for her grandparents. So they took her to their room. And entertained her till 7AM after which they wanted to go for a walk. So at I dragged my sorry ass out of bed and at 7:30AM, ON A SUNDAY, set off for a walk with Sara strapped in the baby carrier. Foolishly, I thought that would lull her to sleep. We came back at 8:30AM with her wide awake and wanting to play.

Kuldeep and I were supposed to go to a music festival in the afternoon. But I chose to cancel in the hopes that I could get a little shut-eye when Sara naps, which she does for 2 hours every day.

GUESS WHO DECIDED TO SKIP NAPTIME ON SUNDAY?!!!

Not only did we miss out on the music-festival but Sara continued to be super cranky all through the day, till 9:30pm when she finally slept off and SO DID I!!

Man, I’ve never looked forward to a Monday as much as I did that day!

If you would like to read more, try

  1. The week before this.
  2. My Resolutions for 2020. Part 1 and Part 2.
  3. Letter to my 5-Year-old. Or about the time he lost his first tooth!

 

Feature Image- Unsplash. Blog Images- © Radhika.

Leave a comment